Santorini Gets Hit

Map of SantoriniGreece is one of those countries that is in an Earthquake zone and news about Earthquakes in the country are often heard. Last night, the island of Santorini was hit by one measuring 5.1 on the Richter scale.

I have found out more news about the topic via Greek broadcaster ERT’s website:

The tremor occured at 11:30pm NE of Santorini and some 225km SE of Athens.

I often hear of tremors that hit Greece but I always seem to miss them! I am very keen on anything related to geography and would love to know what its like to be caught up in one!

Were you on the island at 11:30pm CEST/9:30pm BST/8:30pm GMT? Leave a comment below and tell me about what it was like!

The photo used was created by Flickr member “Ely_photo” and has been used under a Creative Commons license.

Fred Hart

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *